Running wires to garage.


  #1  
Old 10-04-10, 05:11 PM
bobbi 5's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running wires to garage.

I want to run two circuits to my garage useing one 12-3 romex can i use a 20 amp tandem breaker with a bridge clip betwwen the handles. they have holes in the handles
 
  #2  
Old 10-04-10, 05:40 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,151
Received 164 Votes on 147 Posts
Originally Posted by bobbi 5 View Post
I want to run two circuits to my garage useing one 12-3 romex can i use a 20 amp tandem breaker with a bridge clip betwwen the handles. they have holes in the handles
Short answer is NO. A typical 20 amp tandem is two single pole breakers that each draw their power from the same bus stab (same line). In order to use a common neutral (multi wire branch circuit) you must draw power on the two circuits from separate lines entering the panel, other wise you would overload the neutral. To run a common neutral in a multi wire branch circuit you must use a 2 pole breaker, not a tandem.
 
  #3  
Old 10-04-10, 05:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Only if you are referring to a half size 240v 2 pole breaker. Note if this is a GE box you must be very careful that it goes on both hots. You can not use a tandem intended as two single pole breakers on the same hot.
 
  #4  
Old 10-04-10, 05:59 PM
bobbi 5's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so to use a 20 amp tandem i have to run 2, 12-2 romex wires
 
  #5  
Old 10-04-10, 06:27 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,151
Received 164 Votes on 147 Posts
Originally Posted by bobbi 5 View Post
so to use a 20 amp tandem i have to run 2, 12-2 romex wires
That's correct. That way each circuit has it's own dedicated neutral conductor.
 
  #6  
Old 10-04-10, 07:53 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
Your feeder to the outbuilding is limited to one circuit. You cannot run 2 12-2s to the building. You can run one multi-wire branch circuit on a 12-3.
 
  #7  
Old 10-05-10, 05:39 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,151
Received 164 Votes on 147 Posts
I don't think the OP stated whether this was an attached garage or a detached garage. Perhaps this is a good time to ask that question. If it is detached, pcboss is correct, you cannot run two separate 12-2s to a detached outbuilding.
 
  #8  
Old 10-05-10, 09:50 PM
bobbi 5's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
its an attached garage i just wanted to add some more circuits
 
  #9  
Old 10-05-10, 11:06 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
There is no problem in running as many circuits as you desire to an attached garage.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: