wiring switch inline to plug-in fluorescent fixture


  #1  
Old 10-08-10, 04:09 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiring switch inline to plug-in fluorescent fixture

I want to install a 2-bulb fluorescent fixture under the shelf above my workbench in the garage. I purchased a 48" residential 2-T8 bulb fixture and an 8' 16-gauge 13 amp replacement cord. I would like to wire a toggle switch inline on the replacement cord between the fixture and the outlet where I will plug it in. The circuit I will be plugging into is 20-amp. Am I ok with the 16-gauge wire, and should I use a 20-amp toggle switch as opposed to a 15-amp? The fixture uses two 32W bulbs and pulls about .85 amps according to the ballast label. Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 10-08-10, 06:46 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,964
Received 595 Votes on 511 Posts
My suggestion to you is to purchase a cord with a in line switch already installed. I know I have seen them at most home and hardware stores.

The 16ga cord is fine because it only has to carry the load of the light.
 
  #3  
Old 10-08-10, 08:50 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Received 45 Votes on 43 Posts
Also note that most (maybe all) fluorescent fixtures must be grounded (three prong cord).
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-10, 08:53 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Or replace the receptacle with a receptacle/switch combo. Or connect a switch loop to one half of the receptacle.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: