220V air compressor ~ converting to 110V - please help!

Old 10-14-10, 06:15 PM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
220V air compressor ~ converting to 110V - please help!

Hi there, this is my first post and i'm so glad to find this website. I'm an artist and not an electrician so please bear with me

I just bought a mini air compressor for airbrushing. It's 220V/50w, however i have 110v/50w power (i'm in Canada). What i would like to know is:

-Can i just use a step-up/step-down converter type of thing?
-Or do i need a voltage transformer?
-What wattage rating do you recommend for the converter?

Here are the relevant specs from the manual:

Specification: 220V
Voltage: 220v 1PH
Power: 0.065 HP (50W)
Input 180W
Electric Current: 1.3A

I found an inexpensive Step Up/Down Voltage Converter 220V-110V (100 watt max)-- should that do the trick? Is the wattage high enough? Or am i looking at a more complex solution?

The compressor is toted as "low energy consumption" so i'm hoping the simple converter will work. I've been trying to educate myself on the topic, but i'd really like a second opinion from someone knowledgeable so i don't ruin my new tool.

Any help/advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

-Daniel in Gibsons BC Canada

Old 10-14-10, 07:39 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Before the nitpickers lay into you, it's 120v or 240v, not 110 and 220.

That transformer will not work. You'll burn it out. You need to use the Input watts to size your transformer, so I would recommend you find one rated for at least 300w to give you some buffer for the startup surge. Another option you have is if somewhere in the house is a 240v receptacle for like an air conditioner, you would be able to use that.