Cordless 12Volt Drill to Corded Drill?? (Long Post Sorry)

Old 10-17-10, 01:17 PM
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
Cordless 12Volt Drill to Corded Drill?? (Long Post Sorry)

I have a 9 year old Craftsman (Sears) Cordless 12Volt drill and after about 2 years both batteries crapped out. So I kept the drill in storage but now I want to use it again. I looked up online and it seems the batteries are not made anymore and if I can find one they cost a lot of $. Me being a computer tech I have alot of extra computer power supplies laying around. Which got me thinking I know computers run off of 12Volts DC (For the fans and the drive motors) I already tried it with a old Compaq PSU (12 @ 8A) So I jumped the green wire to a black wire and it worked for about 15 Seconds before the supply Blew up (Cap exploded)
before that I tried a 3A brick and that only worked on low speed for about 5 Seconds (Luckily this was a good PSU and the over current kicked it and it shut down)
So my main question how much current can the drill draw? I have several supplies available to me
I also have a monster Power Supply (13.8VDC & 25A) for my shop to test car stereos and CB radio and other car Toys
I measured the voltage unloaded on the output and it is just .1Volt over so 13.9VDC So I have another question is will almost 14VDC ruin the 12Volt drill?

Thanks and sorry for the long post

Old 10-17-10, 01:33 PM
Super Moderator
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Ummm I have to say...whats the point in having a cordless drill thats tied to a P/S and wall socket? You can find a cheap cordless many places for about $25 (if that)...or just buy a cheap corded drill that will last years tucked away in a drawer and still work when you pull it out.

And yes..the 14V supply will hurt the drill...not right away...but eventually.

Old 10-17-10, 01:39 PM