Hook up 220V appliance

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-24-10, 10:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Bruwnswick
Posts: 5
Hook up 220V appliance

Hi folks,

I need to hook up an exterior appliance to the panel breaker.
It requires a 20A 220V breaker.
I am not too familiar with 220V wires, so I would like to know what type of wire and what gauge for an outdoor application?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-24-10, 10:33 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
Assuming this is a residence, you have 120/240 volt single phase service and not 220 volts. What kind of appliance is it and how far will it be from the house? What is the wattage? How are you proposing to get the wire to it? Your only choice may be underground if it is more than a few feet away.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-10, 10:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: orange county
Posts: 285
The type and size of wire utilized for a particular application is usually tetermined by any number of factors. First and foremost of course would be how much current will pass through them. The lenght/distance they will extend to. The conditions they will be subjected to ie. heat and or possible physical damage. Ussually over 100 feet (one way) will require a size larger than what the circuit wires would normally be sized for. For example a 20 amp circuit, usually but not always utilizes 12awg. If the circuit were to be longer than 100 feet or so, 10awg would be usually be recommended/required. Outdoor application would require wire that would have a W in its identification number. W meaning wet. And then de-rating may have to be considered, if said circuit/circuits are enclosed in a race-way. GFIC's are usually, perhaps always required for outdoor applications. Anyway just something to mull over until the pros arrive to give you specifics.
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-10, 11:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Bruwnswick
Posts: 5
Thanks for the replies, very helpful.

It will only need approx 30ft of wire. Its to connect a heat pump system.
The length of wire outside will be minimal and it will be protected anyway.
So from sidecutter reply a 12gauge wire is suficient.
The appliance requires a 20A breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 10-24-10, 12:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
What kind of item to hook up to the heat pump just wondering ??

And with any exteral units you should have a disconnect switch and simple A/C pull out switch will work just fine on this useage.

And if you use 4.0mm˛ twinner { 12-2 romex or uf cable } remark the white conductor so you know it is a straight 240 volt load.

This part is fine as long you do not use any netural load but if it required netural then you have to go with 4.0mm˛ triplex { 12-3 cable }


Merci.
Marc
 
  #6  
Old 10-24-10, 12:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,667
Note you can not use Romex for the outside portion of the run. Probably best to run Romex inside the house to a disconnect mounted to the outside wall then a whip from the disconnect to the device. Some Big Box stores have ready made whips or you can make your own from Seal-tite flexible conduit and THWN individual wires.
 
  #7  
Old 10-24-10, 04:27 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
Don't forget, you'll also need a 120 volt GFI protected weatherproof receptacle for servicing purposes too.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'