How to install GFCI in bath with 2 wire circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-30-10, 06:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 559
How to install GFCI in bath with 2 wire circuit?

My daughter bought an old house in Atlanta and it has the old 2 prong outlets. Is there a way to install a GFCI in the bathrooms?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-30-10, 07:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
If there is enough room in the box for the GFI this is easy. Remove power and remove the old receptacle. If downstream GFI protection is not needed you only need to use the LINE terminals. Restore power and install "No Equipment Ground" stickers.

If there is not enough room in the box the other option is a GFI breaker at the panel.

A ground is not needed for the GFI to operate properly.
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-10, 08:56 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Sounds like Virginia Highlands or Little 5 Points. Atlanta sure has a bunch of the older homes that are being refurbished, and turned into really nice neighborhoods.
As Jim said, your only problem may be the size of the original metal box not being able to handle the size of the GFCI.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes