How to install GFCI in bath with 2 wire circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-30-10, 06:24 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 680
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to install GFCI in bath with 2 wire circuit?

My daughter bought an old house in Atlanta and it has the old 2 prong outlets. Is there a way to install a GFCI in the bathrooms?
 
  #2  
Old 10-30-10, 07:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,251
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
If there is enough room in the box for the GFI this is easy. Remove power and remove the old receptacle. If downstream GFI protection is not needed you only need to use the LINE terminals. Restore power and install "No Equipment Ground" stickers.

If there is not enough room in the box the other option is a GFI breaker at the panel.

A ground is not needed for the GFI to operate properly.
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-10, 08:56 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Sounds like Virginia Highlands or Little 5 Points. Atlanta sure has a bunch of the older homes that are being refurbished, and turned into really nice neighborhoods.
As Jim said, your only problem may be the size of the original metal box not being able to handle the size of the GFCI.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: