Conduit required in barn?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-31-10, 09:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Conduit required in barn?

I am adding a very basic bathroom in a pole barn. All wiring will be on surface. Electrical will include simplest light fixture and switch, and a 20A/240V heater. No outlet is required in a non-dwelling bathroom. Some of the current wiring in the barn is bare romex and some is in plastic conduits. I was wondering is some kind of conduit perhaps a code requirement today, or would romex still be acceptable as a surface installation?

I am in MN, where I understand we now follow NEC 2008. Inspection will be done by state inspectors.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-10, 01:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
As long you don't have any livestock you can use any approved methold of cable or conduits to termated them in proper location.

But if you going to leave majtory of the walls are exposed then please run them in conduit unless you close the wall / ceiling up.

But I will let Toyln confirm this part due he live in Minnestoa so he will know couple more details with state codes.

Merci.
Marc
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-10, 08:43 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,284
Marc is correct. Romex may not be run on the surface unprotected. Either run it in conduit or pull in THHN wires. Wiremold inside the bathroom may be a good option for you.
Where the wiring is done in livestock areas the wiring may only be UF, PVC, copper SE cables or jacketed MC cable.
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-10, 06:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Actually the barn has been converted into a workshop space and no longer will hold livestock. Anyway, since the wiring will be on the surface of plywood walls, sounds like PVC conduit might be the best solution. Thanks for all the good advice.
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-10, 09:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Just want to remind you that all the 120 volt circuits have to be GFCI protected and I know in State of Minnestota do not have any extempts on this one unless written in local code attachment.

Merci.
Marc
 
  #6  
Old 11-02-10, 11:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Actually I thought this requirement was only for 120 V circuits that have power outlets. Since an outlet is not required by the code for a non-dwelling bathroom, I was not going to install one. Do you mean I also need to put a GFCI breaker in the light circuit?
 
  #7  
Old 11-02-10, 12:03 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
Unless there's something different about MN from the national code, your understanding is correct Pete. All receptacles must have GFCI protection, but a receptacle is not required in your case. The lights would only need GFCI if they were the plug-in kind like shop lights.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes