Lighting/receptacle circuit

Old 12-16-00, 11:57 AM
Brent Turner
Visiting Guest
I have a 3 way switch that I want to continue a receptacle circuit off of. The 3 way switch is set up with the light in the middle of the two switches. I want to run the circuit of off the first switch, but I am unsure how to continue. One other question please, how does a 120 volt branch circuit differ from a 120 volt isolated ground circuit? Thanks for any help.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-16-00, 02:04 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

I'm not an electrician, but normally lighting circuits are separate from outlet circuits.
For instance, a lighting circuit might be on a 15 amp breaker and smaller 14 gauge wire circuit (which your's may be), and an outlet circuit should be on a 20 amp breaker with 12 gauge wiring.
Sprky or one of the other pro electricians in here can answer your technical and code questions (I can't), but I don't think that I would do what you plan to do.
In any case, Good Luck!

Old 12-16-00, 02:16 PM
Brent Turner
Visiting Guest
This is on a 15 amp breaker with 14/2 wire to the receptacles from the box. The cable on the three way switch is 14/3. I currently have 4 receptacles and a ceiling light on this circuit.

Old 12-16-00, 05:10 PM
Tapping power from a switch for an outlet is "iffy" at best. With some switches it can be done -- with others it cannot.

The first thing you must determine is whether you have both a permanent hot wire in the switch box. Use a voltmeter and make sure this wire has power no matter which of the four positions of the two switches.

Second you must determine whether you have a neutral wire in the box. Turn off the power. Use an ohmmeter. Find a white wire with zero ohms to the ground wire.

Unless you have both, you cannot do this. Many three-way switch boxes have neither!!!