beginner question -- replacing Romex with shielded

Old 11-10-10, 06:55 AM
beginner question -- replacing Romex with shielded

Hi All,

Total beginner here with electrical. I'm selling my home and the buyer is asking me to replace the Romex wiring on the hot water heater with "shielded material."

Basically, what type of wire should I ask for at the hardware store? I'm not even sure what "shielded" means.

Any brands you would recommend?

How tough of a job is this? Is it a DIY or should I hire someone?

Thanks a lot!

Sponsored Links
Old 11-10-10, 08:09 AM
Group Moderator
This isn't making sense to me - Romex is cable used to deliver electricity to outlets, like the one into which the water heater is plugged

Can you throw in a picture or two to help explain what's being asked to be replaced?

http://forum.doityourself.com/electr...your-post.html

BTW, welcome to the forums

Old 11-10-10, 08:27 AM
Group Moderator
Do you mean there is an unprotected piece of Romex between the wall and the water heater? This is quite common but probably not code. Do you have a junction box on the wall or a junction box flush with the wall and a cover plate. If no junction box you will need to add one. You can buy a #10 "whip" at the BigBox store which is a ready-made metallic cable for this purpose.

Old 11-10-10, 08:30 AM
Originally Posted by mitch17 View Post
This isn't making sense to me - Romex is cable used to deliver electricity to outlets, like the one into which the water heater is plugged
I've seen a number of homes where Romex (NM-B) was run directly from the load center to the fitting and junction box built into the top of the water heater.

Whether this is permitted depends on local and state codes. It wasn't a violation of the NEC in the 70s and 80s, but I don't know if it's been disallowed more recently. I can't see why it would have been.