switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-10-10, 01:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
switch

I'm trying to wire a switch to operate 3 lights and a receptacle. First off, is this possible? Second, I've tried wiring it 2 different ways, then I reversed the wires on the switch, the lights and receptacle work in all 3 instances, but it won't shut off by the switch, what gives?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-10-10, 02:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,447
Wiring

We need more info. Where is the power cable?(At the receptacle, or the switch box, or one of the lights)
 
  #3  
Old 11-10-10, 02:36 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
Originally Posted by gearhead59 View Post
I'm trying to wire a switch to operate 3 lights and a receptacle. First off, is this possible?
Yes. The best way to wire this would be to bring the power cable (12/2) into the switch. From the switch, run a 12/2 cable to light1, then from light1 to light2, and so on to daisy-chain to each of the four devices you wish to control with the switch. At the switch, the grounds are connected, whites are connected and the blacks are connected to the switch terminals. At each controlled device, black to black, white to white, ground to ground.
 
  #4  
Old 11-10-10, 07:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Gotcha! That sounds right after seeing it written down by you! Thanks ibpooks! I had it wired the way some other website told me to do it, ain't gonna go anywhere else for info ever again!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes