Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Questions Re: Adding Lights, Forced Air Heat, General Wiring in Attic

Old 11-12-10, 07:21 PM

I'm finally going to add forced air heating to my home. I'm consulting with a licensed heating contractor but I try not to bug him with questions every day, especially with regard to the finer electrical details. I have done such installs before, but because this is a two unit building in my jurisdiction the homeowner can't pull a permit. It was a huge disappointment to find that out a few years after buying the place. So really I'm paying him to double check my work and pull the permit, not teach me the trades,

I've been doing electrical work for 25 years and can read code, but I have a horrible memory so if you don't mind I'll pick your brains here for a few details. My copy of the NEC is so old it fits in my back pocket (though I'm aware you can get it online for free at this point.)

A number of years ago I used the existing knob and tube wires(!) to pull NM throughout the premises, running each branch through the attic. I read up on it a bit, and gave it some Deep Thought. I ended up running the NM across the joists a few feet from the rafter plates, as this gave enough access for servicing but was inconvenient enough to dissuade anyone from storing stuff there. Even if I converted it to living space, it's most common to drop vertical walls a few feet high and leave the space behind as triangular "crawlspace," and transforming the living space from a triangle to a pentagon.

Admittedly I left a few mechanical details to do "later". At one point there was an indication that I needed to lay down "running board" under the NM.

Is that true? Do I need to underlay the wiring or can I staple it directly to the joists? Is there a minimum width of the underlayment?