Woods Timer

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-10, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Woods Timer

I'm pretty sure I know the answer to the question but thought I would ask anyway...

I am working with a Woods Timer at home, its digital and allows you to set programs on/off based on the day. The problem I run into is that the box (metal) has no neutral, and therefore the switch will not work. As I understand it, it is not safe to connect the neutral to the box to ground it, correct?

Since conduit was used to go from the switch to the fixture outside, would it be feasible to use fish tape to pull a neutral?

Or, does anyone know of any timer switch that does not have a neutral?

Thanks,
Andrew
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-10, 09:04 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
You can NOT use the ground as a neutral. If this is conduit, you can absolutely fish a neutral in there. Depending on the length and size of the conduit, the gauge of the wire, and the number of bends, you may be able to simply shove the wire through without a fish tape. You might be best tying the fish tape to the existing wires and pulling them out (pulling the fish tape into place). Then tie the neutral on and pull the tape back out, pulling all the wires back into place.

There are also timers that don't require neutral. Certain models of Honeywell's Auba line are designed to work without. Intermatic makes a few too.
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-10, 10:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Intermatic and few others do make timer without netural but with that format you have to becarefull due some may not work very well with CFL or LED { they will blink or flicker when it is off mode }

Look around in big box store there are few verison there.

Merci.
Marc
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-10, 10:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,644
I probably wouldn't bother with a fish tape. I'd just tie a string to one of the wires, pull the wire out then pull the new wire and old wire back in with the string. I know a variation on what was said but only one wire and the string could be easier then the stiffer fish tape and all the wires. And don't forget the lube.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'