Installing a surface mount outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-10, 05:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Question Installing a surface mount outlet

I would like to install an outlet inside an existing kitchen cabinet. Rather than cut into the cabinet, I would like to install a surface mount box.

There is already a romex power lead in the wall behind the cabinet that can be fished through a hole I could drill into the back of the cabinet. (The cable will be detached from a to-be-retired fixture.)

So what I would like to do is drill a sufficiently sized hole through the back of the cabinet and wall behind to pull through the end of the romex cable. Then, connect this cable to a surface mount outlet that would be mounted over the hole against the back of the cabinet.

I have seen a product called WireMold which has a surface mount outlet, but it seems like you feed it power through a surface mount raceway. I don't need this because the power is already right there behind the outlet location. Is there a way to use a WireMold box for my application?

I have also seen surface mount boxes labeled for outdoor use (like for an outside wall); these look like they would physically work but I don't know if it allowed to use an outdoor box indoors, or even necessary.

Is there another term to look for in a big box hardware store for the kind of box I am looking for? I have seen the new work and old work boxes but these require cutting into the cabinet and/or wall.

Thanks for any advice.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-10, 05:35 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,397
I have seen a product called WireMold which has a surface mount outlet, but it seems like you feed it power through a surface mount raceway. I don't need this because the power is already right there behind the outlet location. Is there a way to use a WireMold box for my application?
Yes, there is a 1/2" knockout in the back plate of most Wiremold surface boxes through which you could bring your wiring with the appropriate connector.
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-10, 05:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Some Wiremold have backs with a punch out. You would need to use a cable clamp and make the hole in the back of the cabinet big enough for the clamp.

 
  #4  
Old 11-17-10, 05:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Ah I see, thanks. So, er, the cable clamp goes inside the hole -- what does it attach to? Does the clamp screw into the cabinet to hold it in place?

I also need to run another length of romex from the outlet out the back of the cabinet to another fixture. Would this need a separate clamp? (two holes, or one big hole?)
 
  #5  
Old 11-17-10, 06:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
You would use a connector like this The locknut will hold the connector to the backplate.
 
  #6  
Old 11-17-10, 07:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Ooh I would love to see the picture you posted, pcboss, but it looks like there's a problem because the image isn't showing here. Could you try reposting it? Thanks!
 
  #7  
Old 11-17-10, 09:15 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
 
  #8  
Old 11-17-10, 09:21 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
You can also use one of these.. It's called a Handy Box, and it costs about $0.80, versus the 7 bucks or so for a Wiremold box. There is a special cover plate for them that matches the round corners. If you buy them from the same store (same brand), they will match perfectly.. If you don't, you wind up with what I have. But since it's in the cabinet, I don't really care.

 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes