Add light to 3 way switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-22-10, 09:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Question Add light to 3 way switches

My dining room has three way switches that used to be connected to one half of all the receptacles in the room. The previous owner apparently disconnected them at the receptacles and wire nutted the chain together. Can I tap in along the chain to add a ceiling light fixture?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-22-10, 10:18 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,660
Tell us how many 2-conductor cables and how many 3-conductor cables at each switch. Tell us the connections at each switch. Are any receptacles still controlled by the switches?
The previous owner apparently disconnected them at the receptacles and wire nutted the chain
Please explain in detail.
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-10, 10:54 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Easiest way to do this would be to reconnect the 3 ways so they work. Then fish a 2 wire cable into one of the receptacle boxes (Might be best to go to the closest box to the switch that has the switch leg in it) and run it to your ceiling light.

This is an over simplified description but it will give you an idea of what is entailed.
 
  #4  
Old 11-22-10, 11:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
There is a black, white and ground coming into box #1 and a black, red, white and ground going out to the first receptacle.
Incoming black to the common on the switch. Incoming white wire nutted to outgoing black. Outgoing red and white to the other two terminals on the switch. All grounds tied together.
Box #2 has a black to the common on the switch. Red and white to the other two terminals on the switch. All grounds tied together.
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-10, 12:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,660
and a black, red, white and ground going out to the first receptacle.
Just to confirm your sure about that? Tell us all the wiring at the first receptacle even wires just capped off. Do not include grounds in your description.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'