Problem changing a single pole switch


  #1  
Old 11-26-10, 03:59 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem changing a single pole switch

I'm replacing a single light switch (controls one ceiling can) with a motion-type switch. Anyway the new switch has 4 wires, Black/hot, White/neut. and Red/load, Green/grnd. The wiring inside the wall box has a single cable coming in with the black, white and copper ground.

I'm not sure where this red wire goes if anywhere; I tried capping the red from the switch and the indicator light on the switch lights up but doesn't work, and and no light. I tried capping the black from the switch and that didn't work at all.

Thanks in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 11-26-10, 04:30 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What is the brand, model # of new switch?
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-10, 04:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
new switch has 4 wires, Black/hot, White/neut. and Red/load, Green/grnd.... The wiring inside the wall box has a single cable coming in with the black, white and copper ground
It can't be used without running new cable. You need a neutral at the switch. You don't have one. You have a switch loop. The white wire in the switch box is not a neutral.
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-10, 04:55 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Model is Pass & Seymour RWU600UWCCV4

...ok so this is not a swap out situation then. I assume I can get a more suitable switch without adding additional wiring?
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-10, 05:06 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Evidently the RW500U can be used without a neutral; see this link:
http://tools.passandseymour.com/pdf/...evB_IS_eng.pdf
In it, the RWU600U requires a neutral.
 
  #6  
Old 11-26-10, 06:51 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correct on all counts gentlemen, thank you.

Both models were there at the depot, other than the wattage difference, they appeared the same, but I just got back from the return trip and clear as day in microscopic writing, "neutral required..."

The new one is in and working. This place is great, thanks again guys.
 
  #7  
Old 11-26-10, 09:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
  #8  
Old 11-27-10, 05:53 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Da nada; glad it went well.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: