Problem changing a single pole switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-26-10, 04:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 7
Problem changing a single pole switch

I'm replacing a single light switch (controls one ceiling can) with a motion-type switch. Anyway the new switch has 4 wires, Black/hot, White/neut. and Red/load, Green/grnd. The wiring inside the wall box has a single cable coming in with the black, white and copper ground.

I'm not sure where this red wire goes if anywhere; I tried capping the red from the switch and the indicator light on the switch lights up but doesn't work, and and no light. I tried capping the black from the switch and that didn't work at all.

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-26-10, 05:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
What is the brand, model # of new switch?
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-10, 05:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,051
new switch has 4 wires, Black/hot, White/neut. and Red/load, Green/grnd.... The wiring inside the wall box has a single cable coming in with the black, white and copper ground
It can't be used without running new cable. You need a neutral at the switch. You don't have one. You have a switch loop. The white wire in the switch box is not a neutral.
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-10, 05:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 7
Model is Pass & Seymour RWU600UWCCV4

...ok so this is not a swap out situation then. I assume I can get a more suitable switch without adding additional wiring?
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-10, 06:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
Evidently the RW500U can be used without a neutral; see this link:
http://tools.passandseymour.com/pdf/...evB_IS_eng.pdf
In it, the RWU600U requires a neutral.
 
  #6  
Old 11-26-10, 07:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 7
Correct on all counts gentlemen, thank you.

Both models were there at the depot, other than the wattage difference, they appeared the same, but I just got back from the return trip and clear as day in microscopic writing, "neutral required..."

The new one is in and working. This place is great, thanks again guys.
 
  #7  
Old 11-26-10, 10:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,051
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
  #8  
Old 11-27-10, 06:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
Da nada; glad it went well.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes