Why is there still some voltage?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-30-10, 08:58 AM
joeperi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 232
Why is there still some voltage?

I am running a second light receptacle from an existing light receptacle. Existing wiring is armored cable. When I throw the wall switch to "off", I still read 10volts at the existing receptacle but zero amps. How come? Shouldn't I be reading zero volts?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-30-10, 09:06 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,287
What are you usimng to measure the voltage. If you have an analog meter, you should see zero. If you have a digital meter and see a small voltage, it is a phantom voltage - common problem with digital meters.
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-10, 11:01 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,674
For safety you should be turning off the power at breaker or fuse box. Stray voltage - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'