220v tanning bed...need wiring help

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-30-10, 10:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
220v tanning bed...need wiring help

Hello all...newb here.
i have a 220v tanning bed that I need to put a new plug on. The only 220 receptacle in my garage is a basic dryer type with three prongs. The bed has four wires coming out of it...1 red, 1 green and 2 black
Is there a way to make this configuration work without replacing the 3 prong receptacle that exists?

Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-01-10, 02:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
You going have to post the model and brand name so one of us will check out the wiring connection and many tanning beds are very picky with votlage so you will need to verify with volt meter to make sure it will be right on the specs per tanning bed requirment.

If not you will have to either boost or buck the voltage to match the nameplate { I have see it more than once }

As far for connection just hold on until we get to bottom line with conenctions and the numbers of conductor and colours is not right so that why we ask you for model number to make sure.

Merci,
Marc
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-10, 09:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thank you for the information..
The bed is a SCA Wolff Series II
It's an older bed.

Thanks again!
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-10, 09:10 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
Originally Posted by BrokeLoser View Post
1 red, 1 green and 2 black
No whites or blues? Do you have a wiring diagram in the installation manual or printed on the lid of the wiring compartment?
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-10, 09:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by ibpooks View Post
No whites or blues? Do you have a wiring diagram in the installation manual or printed on the lid of the wiring compartment?
I am not at home right now but I will be in an hour or so and I will double check. I don't have a manual though.

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-10, 09:52 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
The bed has four wires coming out of it...1 red, 1 green and 2 black
Not a pro but if I could get to the ballast easily I would want to see what the voltage is and if single phase or three phase. I couldn't pin down your specific model in Google. Some indication it might be commercial but others indicate it has separate 120v cords for top and bottom (two cords).
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-10, 10:33 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,859
I saw a post on a tanning bed site that a company faxed the wiring specs and manual to a non-customer for no charge. Just do a Google search for the model. You should find it quickly.
 
  #8  
Old 12-01-10, 10:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by ibpooks View Post
No whites or blues? Do you have a wiring diagram in the installation manual or printed on the lid of the wiring compartment?
Okay, I gave wrong information..
The bad actually has 2 blacks, 1 white and 1 green with yellow stripe

Sorry and thanks
 
  #9  
Old 12-01-10, 10:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by Gunguy45 View Post
I saw a post on a tanning bed site that a company faxed the wiring specs and manual to a non-customer for no charge. Just do a Google search for the model. You should find it quickly.
I'm searching now....good idea
 
  #10  
Old 12-01-10, 11:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Okay, I gave wrong information..
The bad actually has 2 blacks, 1 white and 1 green with yellow stripe
Ok that makes more sense. Does it say 120/240 volts anywhere on it? We really need to know the full specs off any info label on it. Did someone tell you it was 220v, who? Where did you buy it?
 
  #11  
Old 12-01-10, 02:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
Ok that makes more sense. Does it say 120/240 volts anywhere on it? We really need to know the full specs off any info label on it. Did someone tell you it was 220v, who? Where did you buy it?
I bought it used and was told it was 220v...I found a label!

It reads:
120 / 240vac, 60Hz 3 wire
or
120 / 208vac, 60Hz, 2 phase with neutral
or
120vac, 60Hz, 1 phase

Total Wattage 2,750
 
  #12  
Old 12-01-10, 02:56 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
120 / 240vac, 60Hz 3 wire
Okay, that's what we need to know.

This bed cannot be used with an old dryer circuit. You'll need to install a new 15A 120/240 circuit using a 15A double-pole breaker, 14/3g cable, and NEMA 14-15R receptacle (electrical supply house item for sure). If the bed is "permanent" it can be hardwired to a DPST disconnect switch in lieu of the receptacle and cord.
 
  #13  
Old 12-01-10, 03:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
120 / 208vac, 60Hz, 2 phase with neutral
Did it really say 2phase? Or was it 3 phase. Not important, just curious.
 
  #14  
Old 12-01-10, 03:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
Did it really say 2phase? Or was it 3 phase. Not important, just curious.
I just confirmed it...it says 2 phase with neutral
 
  #15  
Old 12-01-10, 04:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by ibpooks View Post
Okay, that's what we need to know.

This bed cannot be used with an old dryer circuit. You'll need to install a new 15A 120/240 circuit using a 15A double-pole breaker, 14/3g cable, and NEMA 14-15R receptacle (electrical supply house item for sure). If the bed is "permanent" it can be hardwired to a DPST disconnect switch in lieu of the receptacle and cord.
Thanks...you sound sure of yourself and thats good...haha
Are these receptacles (male & female) something I can get at Home Depot?
I'm selling the bed and just want to make sure it still works okay...when I got it it was hard wired with no plug.
 
  #16  
Old 12-01-10, 05:23 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
Are these receptacles (male & female) something I can get at Home Depot?
MAYBE you can get them at Home Depot, you'll have to ask. If not, try a good supply house like ibpooks suggested. Ask for a NEMA 14-15R (receptacle) and a NEMA 14-15P (plug).
 
  #17  
Old 12-02-10, 07:27 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,982
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
Did it really say 2phase? Or was it 3 phase. Not important, just curious.
They are using two phases of a three phase system and also require a neutral.
 
  #18  
Old 12-02-10, 08:47 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
It would probably be cheaper to hard wire it. I'm guessing the 14-15 plug and receptacle are probably $25 each.
 
  #19  
Old 12-02-10, 09:30 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,982
Originally Posted by ibpooks View Post
It would probably be cheaper to hard wire it. I'm guessing the 14-15 plug and receptacle are probably $25 each.
Then you would need a disconnect unless the bed has an off switch. I agree about the cost issue though.
 
  #20  
Old 12-02-10, 10:18 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
But guys the OP wrote:
I'm selling the bed and just want to make sure it still works okay...when I got it it was hard wired with no plug.
For temp testing wouldn't adding a dryer plug with ground not connected be OK just for checking then removing plug before selling?

Alternately if the OP can get it close to the main breaker box a temp hard wire to a 2pole 15 am breaker.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'