Running service from existing sub panel

Old 12-01-10, 07:02 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Running service from existing sub panel

I have read several posts on here, each one had one element or another of my project, but none had me covered from start to finish. I am not an electrician, but have upgraded my house panel my self and added new circuits, etc, so I am not totally clueless when it comes to this stuff....

Now to my question...I have a panel outside which used to power my hot tub. I got rid of the tub, but now have a new storage shed. I would like to run from the hot tub sub panel (disconnect?) To my shed. The shed is approximately 40 feet from this panel (which is also GFCI protected). Not looking to run anything larger than hand tools, compound saw, lights and a fan.

I was planning on buying a small panel for inside the shed with circuit breakers. The hot tub circuit is 50amp.

What gauge wire and type should I run from the panel, underground to the shed?
In conduit, or not?
Can I add a breaker panel in the shed to avoid a "disconnect"?
Suggestions for number of circuits in the shed and best way to seperate them?
Anything I have forgotten or left out?
Oh yes, how deep do I bury the wire and/or conduit?
Since it is already GFCI, and presumably grounded, do I need ground rods at the shed also?

Whew! Typed all that from my phone! Hopefully I gave enough details to assist in guiding me. I look forward to your responses!

Old 12-01-10, 08:04 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
If there are only three wires to the existing subpanel you can't. How many wires do you have?

Old 12-02-10, 09:06 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
As Ray said we will need to know the number and type of wires in the existing sub before confirming the plan, but it is probably workable. A picture of the inside of the tub sub would be great.

Originally Posted by kshew97