Adding outlet when wires are too short

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-10, 05:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,365
Adding outlet when wires are too short

Ok below a plexy glass window is a outlet box covered with a plate. The 2 black wires are long enough but the white wires have been cut short and wire nutted and there is no slack to pull them out. Would I be able to add 2 white wires to the wire-nut so i can put in a outlet or no? they had to be on there at one time cause they cut a hole in the side the size of a window and put thin Plexiglas caulked and screwed in.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-10, 06:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Why would you need two white wires? Only one is needed to feed the silver side of the receptacle. For that matter, you could do the same thing with the blacks by adding a single pigtail to their wire nut and using it to feed the brass side of the receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-10, 08:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,365
There are 4 wires total. 2 blacks 2 whites and the ground. Someone removed the outlet and just wirenutted the wires together as a bypass. So I would need 2 wires on one side of the outlet and the 2 blacks on the other-side
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-10, 10:14 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
Originally Posted by flirty1 View Post
There are 4 wires total. 2 blacks 2 whites and the ground. Someone removed the outlet and just wirenutted the wires together as a bypass. So I would need 2 wires on one side of the outlet and the 2 blacks on the other-side
Nope, you only need one black, one white and one ground wire on the receptacle. Pigtail the whites and pigtail the blacks as Rick suggested.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-10, 10:51 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
Are you sure it is live? Are you sure it is not on a restricted circuit such as kitchen counter or bath? There is a ground isn't there?
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-10, 12:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,365
It is live its in my bedroom. There is a ground wire. I pigtailed the whites and blacks to the outlet and pigtailed the ground and the outlet works. I did test it before to make sure it had power.
 
  #7  
Old 12-05-10, 01:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
Excellent. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes