hockey shooter tutor that sets off light - suggestions?

Old 12-06-10, 02:06 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hockey shooter tutor that sets off light - suggestions?

Hi
I have a question about a trigger system. I want to make a hockey shooter tutor as depicted in the images below. The puck passes through a hole in some plywood, and sets of a light to reward the shooter. Here are my ideal operation parameters:
1) light is AC - household wall plug, because this will be outside on a rink
2) putting puck through any hole should set off the light.
3) the light and trigger system should reset by itself in a short period of time - 5 seconds or less - to facilitate rapid fire sessions with several pucks
4) I am not an electrician so speak slowly...
Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Yes, the light will be behind a mesh barrier so shooters don't pick it as target #6!

Sponsored Links
Old 12-07-10, 05:30 AM
Use a flapper on the back of each hole. The flapper could be as simple as a chunk of rubber screwed to the top of the back of the hole. As the puck passes through, the flapper's movement would close a microswitch (sample only). All of the microswitches would be wired in parallel to the coil of a timed relay, which in turn controls the light.

Ice eventually turns to water, so it's not a good idea to use 120 volts AC. Instead, use a motorcyle battery. It can be charged between uses and should last all day since it will only be drawing power for a few seconds at a time.

Old 12-07-10, 08:35 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Or a magnetic switch because since there is no contact it might hold up better then a micro switch in the long run. The micro switch will take a minor hard pounding each time the flap moves.

I'm thinking there should be some type of timed latching relay so the light is on a full five seconds but that is above my skill level.

I'd sugest both a light and a klaxon horn but that would probably require a biger battery and more on time.

Old 12-07-10, 02:41 PM