no power to garage receptacles!

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-10, 04:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 35
no power to garage receptacles!

About a week ago I noticed one of the receptacles in my garage was not powering the speakers I use when I'm working on my motorcycle. Figuring the breaker was just tripped I made a mental note in the back of my head to check the breaker later in the day. Well a day turned into a week and after checking the breaker it turned out it was not tripped.

I thought the receptacle might have been damaged as I was using it to also power a battery tender. I replaced the receptacle but that did not help the situation. Could the breaker be damaged? Another receptacle down line was being used to power my 26 gallon air compressor. There is also a fridge and a freezer in the garage. None of the receptacles are working. I'm wondering if everything at one point was running simultaneously, even if for a few minutes, if that is enough to do any damage. The garage was built last summer as an addition so all the wiring is new, as is the breaker. BTW the receptacles are on a dedicated circuit. Any thoughts?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-10, 04:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,669
The garage was built last summer as an addition so all the wiring is new, as is the breaker. BTW the receptacles are on a dedicated circuit.
So if it was built to code there should be either a GFCI breaker or a GFCI receptacle protecting the wiring. Best guess is the GFCI is tripped. If the breaker doesn't have a test button then there should be a GFCI receptacle somewhere you need to reset. It may be hidden and forgotten behind something. You did turn the breaker all the way off then on didn't you?

Another receptacle down line was being used to power my 26 gallon air compressor. There is also a fridge and a freezer in the garage. None of the receptacles are working.
With that much load when you get it working again you should consider a second circuit if it is an attached garage or a multiwire circuit or a subpanel if it is a detached garage.

Suggested reading: http://forum.doityourself.com/electr...eshooting.html
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-10-10 at 04:50 PM.
  #3  
Old 12-10-10, 04:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 35
Thanks. I'll check for a gfci tomorrow. Chances are they are hidden behind the fridge or freezer would be my guess, as all other visible ones are regular.
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-10, 05:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 35
problem solved...gfci behind fridge i never knew was there
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-10, 06:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,669
Excellent. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'