portable generator to transfer switch

Old 12-12-10, 05:46 PM
portable generator to transfer switch

Hi,

I have some knowledge of wiring as I have completely rewired my house recently. I own a Generac 8000 running watt generator and was planning on installing a Reliance transfer switch. Checked with the city and they will issue a permit and do an inspection if I install it. The more I read in my generator manual and online the manual for the transfer switch I may be getting confused. Here is the exact wording from the generator manual:
"Use this receptacle to operate 120 Volt AC, 60 Hz, single phase
loads requiring up to 3600 watts (3.6 kW) of power at 30 Amps or
240 Volt AC, 60 Hz, single phase loads requiring up to 7200 watts
(7.2 kW) of power. The outlet is protected by either a 30 Amp
(8.0kW) circuit breaker"

Am I correct that this receptacle would be two legs with each 120 volt lines for a total of 7200 watts?
If this is correct then a Reliance transfer switch that is rated for 7500 watts would be OK. Is this correct?

Thanks,

Harlan

Sponsored Links
Old 12-12-10, 10:30 PM
Yes it can be done but just keep in your mind the total wattage will count both legs so each leg for your unit is 3750 is max watts per leg so you have some leeway on 120 volt circuits but 240 volts is not a issue but just watch the total watage on both 120 and 240 volts circuits and try to keep it both legs balnced much as possible { they work the best when you keep it balanced much as possible }

you will need 30 amp rated inlet or related items it to meet the requirement on this set up.

The last thing I just want to pass the tip along the way make sure you keep the generator exhaust away from the house much as possible for safety sake.

Merci.
Marc

Old 12-13-10, 09:58 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Originally Posted by Harlan View Post
Am I correct that this receptacle would be two legs with each 120 volt lines for a total of 7200 watts?