How difficult is it to add a few extra outlets?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-13-10, 05:27 AM
Otown's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 53
How difficult is it to add a few extra outlets?

In my garage there is only one outlet. I want to add another one or two, but on the opposite wall. Is it just as simple as finding a power source and mounting some conduit to the wall?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-10, 05:35 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
No, you'll have to put wires in the conduit Sorry, couldn't help myself. You can go the conduit route, but there are prettier ways to do it. Fill us in on your garage. Is there a subpanel? How is the garage receiving its power? Is it attached to the house? Is there a ceiling and are there wall coverings? Do you have access above the garage?
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-10, 05:43 AM
Otown's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 53
The wall I want the outlets is block and no power source of any kind. There is a ceiling light. Drywalled ceiling with an access door, just have not made up to see what kind of room i have.
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-10, 06:08 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
A conduit sleeve coming down the block wall may be the easiest for you. You would need to find a source of power. If it were me I would try to run a new circuit. If you provide some of the details Larry asked about we can help with your plan.

Note, the receptacles will need GFI protection in the garage.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'