Reversing my motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-16-10, 09:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
Reversing my motor

Hi, i have a ge 5kcr39un motor and i would like to know if it is reversible and how to do it if it is. Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-16-10, 10:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,505
What voltage and phase is the motor? What leads do you have available in the wiring compartment? Is there a wiring diagram on the compartment door?
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-10, 10:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11


 

Last edited by ibpooks; 12-16-10 at 10:59 AM. Reason: Fixed links
  #4  
Old 12-16-10, 12:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
HERE IS ANOTHER PHOTO

 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-16-10 at 12:35 PM. Reason: Fix Link
  #5  
Old 12-16-10, 12:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
TAHMEEEE, you can't use html in the forum. At Photobucket use the direct link and the Insert Image tab at the top. http://forum.doityourself.com/electr...your-post.html
 
  #6  
Old 12-16-10, 12:35 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,023
Well..It's an AC motor...so the simple answer is no..it can't be reversed. At least AFAIK. DC you just change the polarity, but since AC has no polarity.......
 
  #7  
Old 12-16-10, 01:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
.......uh, sorry, thanks alot. how come i can see my own pictures.....can you?
 
  #8  
Old 12-16-10, 01:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
 
  #9  
Old 12-16-10, 01:29 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,023
You can probably see them since it is your account most likely. Heres a link for posting pics if you ever need to in the future...
http://forum.doityourself.com/electr...your-post.html
 
  #10  
Old 12-16-10, 01:38 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,505
Can you identify which of the wires goes to the capacitor (cylinder on the left)? I can't quite tell from the picture.

Some A/C motors can be reversed by changing the wiring of the start windings and run windings. The trick is identifying which type of motor this is and which windings are run and start.
 
  #11  
Old 12-16-10, 01:57 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,023
Wow...really Ben?...didn't know that. Sorry for the bad info I put out....guess it's cause I always worked with small stuff.
 
  #12  
Old 12-16-10, 02:09 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
Originally Posted by TAHMEEEE View Post
.... how come i can see my own pictures.....can you?
Because Ben and I have been redoing them as explained in the link on inserting images Vic and I gave you.
 
  #13  
Old 12-16-10, 03:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Most AC motors can be reversed IF both ends of the start and run windings are available. Only permanent magnet type DC motors can be reversed by swapping the supply power polarity. Larger DC motors will have both wound field coils and wound rotors and these require changes with the internal wiring to reverse.
 
  #14  
Old 12-16-10, 09:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
......okay , i went to the photobucket, cliked on the right thing and it copied, i then pasted it to the icon here and i got the dreaded red x........hey i can learn teach me again.......lol.
 
  #15  
Old 12-16-10, 09:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
 
  #16  
Old 12-16-10, 10:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
hi, i tried to send a flick but havent figured that one out yet. this particular motor is a two speed, 230 v. it also says 3450/1725. does this mean it can be run as a 120 motor? the outlet and inlet wiring shows two reds , a yellow a black and a brown wire. the plug wires are blck, red , white and green. i know what those are. so two questions: is it reversible and can it run on 120? wish i could show the pics. okay thanks
 
  #17  
Old 12-16-10, 10:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Originally Posted by TAHMEEEE View Post
hi, i tried to send a flick but havent figured that one out yet. this particular motor is a two speed, 230 v. it also says 3450/1725. does this mean it can be run as a 120 motor? the outlet and inlet wiring shows two reds , a yellow a black and a brown wire. the plug wires are blck, red , white and green. i know what those are. so two questions: is it reversible and can it run on 120? wish i could show the pics. okay thanks
Unforetally this motour is not reversable at all I don't have the chart with me but the nameplate info stated that is not a reveseable at all and this is a true two speed motor and no it is not capable to run on 120 volts at all due this motour did not list the HP on the nameplate and the way the current drawage I am pretty sure that is that is a least a 2 hp rating on high speed while low speed more like 1/2 HP. { it will be pretty close but it not have actual rating on the nameplate }

Merci.
Marc
 
  #18  
Old 12-16-10, 10:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
SO........can you see my pics? curious. okay thanks for the info. i have one more motor that is a four horse off a spa that i could use but it is also 230 and it says "non reversible " on the side. however, before i thought about it i hooked it up to 120 and it seems to run really well and shows 1.2 amps (which i think is really 12 amps) could it be that this motor is able to run at both voltages. the wiring plate goes like this: b is empty white is line, black and white is line and a is empty. might this motor already be hooked up for 120 if it runs this well? thanks for your help tommy
 
  #19  
Old 12-16-10, 11:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
A 240 volt only motor may start on 120 volts as long as there is no mechanical load but it will not continue to run with a mechanical load.

You MAY be able to take the motor apart, find the common connection between the start and run windings and re-connect the coils but unless you have some serious experience with electric motors you can easily get into trouble attempting this feat.

Sorry.
 
  #20  
Old 12-16-10, 11:47 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
Start a thread over at General Chats and Discussions - DoItYourself.com Community Forums and I will try to help you with putting pictures in. I will leave you in the capable hands of the pros here on getting a motor up and running. It might help them if you tell them what you are going to use the motor for.
 
  #21  
Old 12-17-10, 06:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
MORNING TO ALL. well thanks for you help.
 
  #22  
Old 12-17-10, 06:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: livingston
Posts: 11
morning........thank you for the info. i need a motor for my table saw and i just had these layin around so i thought i could use them. first off they turn the wrong way and secondly they are the wrong voltage. so.........guess im off to the store. lol. thanks again and to everyone that helped me here. im sure i will have more questions as time goes by. tommy
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes