grounding an outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-17-10, 06:56 PM
T
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
grounding an outlet

A home inspection found several open grounded outlets in my father-in-laws home....the house is approx 100years old...houses has been upgraded with a new panel with a mix of bx and romex....some of the open grounded outlets have ground wires and some do not...I added a ground wire to the box and to the outlet and it still tested open....what are my alteratives short of running new wires to the panel..Thanks for the help....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-17-10, 07:10 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A gfi with a sticker that reads:"gfi protected outlet no egc"
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-10, 07:47 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Justin, tell them where to put the gfci in relation to the receptacles. Too little information leaves them confused, and makes us have to go expound on your answer.
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-10, 07:25 AM
T
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is this my only option? have around 7 or 8 outlets that have a open ground reading on three or four circuits....would it be better to put a gfci breaker in the panel for ea circuit that requires it?....would it be acceptable to install 2 prong ungrounded outlets in...any other options?
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-10, 07:46 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Installing 2 prong receptacles is simplest. Installing a GFCI breaker is probably as simple maybe cheaper given the probable cost of 2 prong receptacles. A single GFCI receptacle can provide protection to down stream receptacles if you can find the first receptacle. In all cases where GFCI protection is used all receptacles would have to be labeled "no ground". Labels usually come with the GFCI.

First I'd look for the last receptacle on the circuit , if any, that had a working ground and see if I could figure out why the next one doesn't read grounded.
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-10, 07:58 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
a gfi would go at the first receptacle in the circut. a gfi breaker is rather expensive, about $65 for a square D breaker.
 
  #7  
Old 12-18-10, 08:15 AM
T
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
last question....would the gfci breaker or gfci outlet solve my open ground with the home inspector...he checked outlet with a three prong tester with three lights......would the tester still read open ground and if so would the gfci protected with no ground labels be sufficent....thanks
 
  #8  
Old 12-18-10, 08:28 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It will not fix the open groundl, but it will follow nec requirements.
 
  #9  
Old 12-18-10, 01:19 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 84 Votes on 74 Posts
Originally Posted by ThomasB View Post
last question....would the gfci breaker or gfci outlet solve my open ground with the home inspector...he checked outlet with a three prong tester with three lights......would the tester still read open ground and if so would the gfci protected with no ground labels be sufficent....thanks
It's hard telling what would solve your problem with the house inspector as most of them know very little about the NEC anyway. Using a GFI as previously described and then changing the remaining grounded receptacles with no ground to 2 wire ungrounded receptacles would be your best bet.
 
  #10  
Old 12-19-10, 06:43 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would prefer the gfi option, because i could actually plug in a grounded plug, which i personally have alot of.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: