NO power to dryer outlet

Old 12-22-10, 12:30 PM
Post NO power to dryer outlet

Hey, all. New to the forums. So take it easy on me since I'm surely not an electrical expert, or even novice!

My wife discovered that our dryer wouldn't work this morning. Sure enough, not a sound when i checked.

So, first off i checked the 3-prong outlet with my multimeter ... and no reading at all. zip. nada. Also, the breaker is NOT tripped. turned on and off a few times with no results. I tested a few other outlets as a base, and they proved OK.

Again, no expert here. Did i check the outlet properly? (both hots, then a hot to neutral -- no readings). Did NOT remove outlet cover. Don't want to screw anything up. But, i'd like to check to see if there are any burn marks, etc. Safe to do so?

I'm no expert, so if anybody has any ideas what may be wrong, i'm happy to listen..

Thanks!
Chris

Sponsored Links
Old 12-22-10, 12:41 PM
Group Moderator
Is this a 30 amp receptacle (outlet) or 15 amp? Is it a gas or electric dryer? Do you have any other 240 volt appliances in the house? Range?

Old 12-22-10, 12:45 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
If you have no voltage hot-hot and no voltage hot-neutral and you know the meter is good, then you probably have a bad breaker stuck in the off/tripped position. The internal mechanism can be tripped even if the handle still moves. As long as you have a reasonably modern panel, the 30A DP breaker should be about $10 to replace, so it's a cheap test.

As long as the breaker is off and you detect no voltage in any slots, removing the receptacle cover should be okay. I doubt that the problem is there though because it would be very unlikely for all the conductors to malfunction at the same time.

e: good thought Ironhand! I didn't even think about a gas dryer.

Old 12-22-10, 12:45 PM
Hi, Ironhand. 30 amp, electric dryer.
Don't know about the range. Outlet not visible.

Old 12-22-10, 12:53 PM
Originally Posted by ibpooks View Post