Does our 1948 house need rewiring?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-10, 08:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Question Does our 1948 house need rewiring?

Our house is a one story rancher in San Antonio, TX built in 1948. How old is too old to trust the original wiring? We are evaluating the need to have an electrical company rewire the house, but wonder if it "ain't broke" do we need to take on the significant expense of doing it? Thank you so much for your opinions.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-10, 08:58 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I think the older soldered connections are more reliable, but the older wiring lacks many safety feactures, such as grounding. The NEC permits you to use a gfi or gfi breaker and install grounded receptacles if you mark them "GFCI Protected" and "No Equipment Ground", if that helps.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-10, 10:24 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 106
Things to consider are:

*Are you doing any remodeling?

*Will you be adding kitchen, bath, laundry room appliances (things which will add more power to your existing wiring.

*How big of a service do you currently have? You can check the main breaker; there should be a number on the tip of it to indicate the service size in amps.

*Are you adding any new circuits?
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-10, 10:46 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
Without being abused many times the old wiring is still serviceable. However, the older circuits were not designed to handle the demands placed by todays usage. Add ing new circuits is a reasonable compromise.
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-10, 11:13 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
If it cannot safely serve its purpose, it is time to replace it! (fuses blowing, breakers tripping) Also, you may have fuses (my area saw fuses into the sixties) Do not install a larger fuse if one blows, and make sure fuses are the right size. (you may need an electrician to do that) Also, look for aluminum wiring, used in the sixties and seventies, that is very dangerous for lighting and small appliance circuts.
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-10, 06:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 7
We replaced the old fuse box with a circuit box about 20 years ago and we don't have much trouble with breakers tripping.
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-10, 07:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by tacticaltal View Post
Things to consider are:

*Are you doing any remodeling?

*Will you be adding kitchen, bath, laundry room appliances (things which will add more power to your existing wiring.

*How big of a service do you currently have? You can check the main breaker; there should be a number on the tip of it to indicate the service size in amps.

*Are you adding any new circuits?
We upgraded the circuit box to 200 amps about 20 years ago and the house is about 2800 sq. feet if that helps. We aren't adding any square footage or appliances, however we do worry a bit about our TV and other appliances being on two-prong plugs. Would using a surge protector help? We also have several smoke detectors throughout the house.
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-10, 08:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,639
Would using a surge protector help?
Surge protectors don't work on ungrounded circuits. You might want to run new, grounded, circuits for those or have a whole house serge protector installed at the panel if you have a history of problems with surges.
 
  #9  
Old 12-31-10, 06:41 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
If you have a problem/worry with surges, you can get a surgebreaker. Like I said, DO NOT USE 3-TO-2 ADAPTERS!!! A gfi with a "NO EQUPMENT GROUND" sticker is much safer.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'