Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

3-Way Switch Question - Power to switch & light in same switch box?

3-Way Switch Question - Power to switch & light in same switch box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-11, 03:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Question 3-Way Switch Question - Power to switch & light in same switch box?

Hello All,
i
I'm in the process of re-wiring my hallway light since I'm putting up a new wall. Since its a new wall I took the opportunity to add a three way to my hallway high-hats.

I have it setup as follows:

Power from breaker to Switch 1.
Switch 1 one also has line to high-hats.
3 Wire from Switch 1 to Switch 2.

Since the wall is open, and I have enough line still to pull the line from the high-hats to Switch 2 if needed (didnt cut it yet). However, I did not do that yet, I wanted to know if there was a way to wire it the way I have it now, so I do not waste another 15 ft of electric line.

In trying to learn about 3-ways, this is my first time really doing them, on my other 3 ways I have insteon devices which do not use the "third line". Anyways, so when the switch is "OFF" it sends power over the "RED" line to the 2nd switch?

Thanks guys
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-02-11, 03:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
You need three conductor cable from switch 1 to switch 2. Color is your choice but I will use white on this cable re-identified as blue (blue/white) for the common and red and black for the travelers. At switch 2 connect the blue/white to common screw and the red and black to the traveler screws.

Switch 1

3-conductor from sw2 blue/white to black of cable to first light.

Red and black of 3-conductor cable to traveler screws of switch 1.

Black of power in to common of switch 1.

White of power in to white of cable to first light.

Anyways, so when the switch is "OFF" it sends power over the "RED" line to the 2nd switch?
You can use any color wire you want except green or bare. The switches simply transfers line or load from one traveler to the other. The common of one switch goes to load the common of the other switch goes to line. If both line and load commons are connected to the same traveler the light is on. If load common is to one traveler and line common to the other traveler the light is off.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-02-11 at 04:14 PM.
  #3  
Old 01-02-11, 04:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
You need three conductor cable from switch 1 to switch 2. Color is your choice but I will use white on this cable re-identified as blue (blue/white) for the common and red and black for the travelers. At switch 2 connect the blue/white to common screw and the red and black to the traveler screws.

Switch 1

3-conductor from sw2 blue/white to black of cable to first light.

Red and black of 3-conductor cable to traveler screws of switch 1.

Black of power in to common of switch 1.

White of power in to white of cable to first light.
Ray,

Thanks for the post. A little confused. The traveler is which on the switch? (its not indicated on the switch or the box), is it the one that turns ON when the switch is OFF?

Unless I am reading what you sad wrong, why would I connect both the black and the red to the traveler screw on both switches?

Thanks,
 
  #4  
Old 01-02-11, 04:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
The switches have three screws. The two brass screws are the travelers. The dark colored screw is the common.

You posted while I was adding this to my other reply.

You can use any color wire you want except green or bare. The switches simply transfers line or load from one traveler to the other. The common of one switch goes to load the common of the other switch goes to line. If both line and load commons are connected to the same traveler the light is on. If load common is to one traveler and line common to the other traveler the light is off.

Imagine this knife switch is your three way switch.

 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-02-11 at 04:50 PM.
  #5  
Old 01-02-11, 05:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Ray,

Ahhh Ok I see... So whatever I choose to use as the "Traveler" I just need to make sure they are both on the same screw right? For example if I use RED on the Right side brass screw of switch 1 I wire that to the right side brass screw of switch 2.
 
  #6  
Old 01-02-11, 05:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Ok I think this pic answers my question.....

I'll just have the left switch wired to the light and the right switch have the power instead.

 
  #7  
Old 01-02-11, 05:22 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
Originally Posted by burmjohn View Post
Ray,

Ahhh Ok I see... So whatever I choose to use as the "Traveler" I just need to make sure they are both on the same screw right? For example if I use RED on the Right side brass screw of switch 1 I wire that to the right side brass screw of switch 2.
Switches don't have lefts and rights and different manufacturers may use different arrangements of the screws. The travelers are interchangeable. It doesn't mater which screw on each switch so long as it is one of the two travelers screws.
 
  #8  
Old 01-02-11, 05:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Ray thanks again, I'll give it a try. I updated my previous post when you were posting this one with a pic. Thanks!
 
  #9  
Old 01-02-11, 05:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664


Bingo! Your beginning to get it. Your wiring will be a bit different but that is basically it. The common on switch 2 will travel back to box 1 on the blue/white of the cable. I can give you a drawing in about 3 hours. Let me know if you need one.
 
  #10  
Old 01-02-11, 06:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Ray,

Its all good and hooked up... It works! Thanks again!
 
  #11  
Old 01-02-11, 07:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
Glad You got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
  #12  
Old 01-02-11, 07:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC.
Posts: 47
Hello burmjohn:

Here is the way I belive you can wire up your NEW ADDED 3 way switch...
Without needing any more wires. You just need to buy 2 new 3 way switches.
Put 1 of the new 3 way switches where you want it, and then replace the old single pole switch with the other 3 way switch also..

It is some what like what "Ray 2047" said, But I used different wire colors for
the "Traveler" wires..




If you need more detailed instructions let me know
and I will post them.

Hope this helps
Let us know how your project comes out..


Have A Nice Day
Linesman
 
  #13  
Old 01-02-11, 07:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Hello,

Thanks for the post, thats pretty much what I did. It's all working now. Thanks for the posts guys!
 
  #14  
Old 01-02-11, 08:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
Nice diagram, Linesman. What program did you use?
 
  #15  
Old 01-03-11, 08:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC.
Posts: 47
Cool 3-Way Switch Question - Power to switch & light in same switch box?

Hello Ray 2047:

Thanks for the kind words..
All the drawings I post here are made with
the "Paint" Program that comes with the computer
nothing special...


Have A Nice Day
Linesman
 
  #16  
Old 01-03-11, 08:34 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
Originally Posted by Linesman View Post
Hello Ray 2047:

Thanks for the kind words..
All the drawings I post here are made with
the "Paint" Program that comes with the computer
nothing special...


Have A Nice Day
Linesman
Dang, I use Paint also (KDE version) but mine aren't as nice. Guess I need to keep practicing.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'