wiring diagram

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-11, 10:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiring diagram

Can someone give me a wiring diagram, I want to run 4 flouresant light fixtures and at least have about 6 outlets. Let me know what all I have to do to pass inspection as far as wire size, how to run wire, etc.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-05-11, 11:15 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,945
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
Can you provide some more information? What room is this in? Are you pulling a new circuit? What will the receptacles provide power for?
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-11, 02:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,569
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Circuit

How many light switches and where will the switch(s) be located?
 
  #4  
Old 01-05-11, 09:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
one switch for the lights, this is for my garage and it will be coming from a sub-panel i put in previously. the switch would be next to the service door entrance.
 
  #5  
Old 01-05-11, 09:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is in my garage, there is a sub-panel already run to the garage, from the house. The recepticles will provide power for music equipment, pa system, drills, air compressor, computer, tv.
 
  #6  
Old 01-06-11, 05:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,569
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Lights

Will the light fixtures be "hard wired" or will you be using shop lights which utilize a cord and plug?
 
  #7  
Old 01-06-11, 09:09 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Best practice to run the lights on a separate circuit. Do you have room in the subpanel for two breakers.

May I suggest a book such as Wiring Simplified available at Home Depot and Amazon. We will be glad to help but you need to know the basics first if you haven't done wiring before.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 01-06-11 at 10:44 AM.
  #8  
Old 01-06-11, 09:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cord and plug is what will be used for the lights.
 
  #9  
Old 01-06-11, 09:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have room for 6 breakers in the subpanel.
 
  #10  
Old 01-07-11, 06:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,569
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Circuits

May I suggest a book such as Wiring Simplified available at Home Depot and Amazon. We will be glad to help but you need to know the basics first if you haven't done wiring before.
I agree with Ray's suggestion.

I would run 12/3 w/g from the light switch box to the location of each light fixture. This way you could use half of each receptacle to operate the lights and use the other half as an "always hot" receptacle.

Also, run at least one other circuit for wall receptacles.

Read the book first.
 
  #11  
Old 01-07-11, 05:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I know to run 12/3 wire, just want a simple wire diagram for these. I ran the wire from the garage, in conduit, to garage sub-panel, I figured that out with you guys help, and got it done correctly, so hows about a wiring diagram?
 
  #12  
Old 01-07-11, 07:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Power in goes to the line side of the GFCI load side goes to the the switch. The Blank GFCI and Switch are mounted side by side in a double gang box,



A GFCI switch or GFCI breaker could also be used.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-07-11 at 08:30 PM.
  #13  
Old 01-08-11, 10:57 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I prefer the switched to be red and the unswitched to be black.
 
  #14  
Old 01-08-11, 12:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Originally Posted by Justin Smith View Post
I prefer the switched to be red and the unswitched to be black.
Yes that is the way it is usually done. I just got it backwards but either way is OK.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: