Over the range microwave electrical issue

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-10-11, 07:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Over the range microwave electrical issue

Hello All,

New to site. Currently attempting to install over the range microwave. The house is 30 years old and there is no electrical outlet in the cabinet over the stove. Nearest outlet is aprox 36" from top of microwave. Can an additional outlet be installed off the exsisting circut or would it be better to replace cord on microwave with longer cord if possible? An.y help would be appreciated
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-11, 08:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,644
Best practice is to run a new circuit from the panel to the cabinet above the microwave.

What with fans and lights most of the over stove microwaves often draw more then 10 amps or in excess of 50% of a 20 amp circuit. 2008 NEC code 210.23 states:
(2) Utilization Equipment Fastened in Place. The total rating of utilization equipment fastened in place, other than luminaires, shall not exceed 50 percent of the branch circuit ampere rating where lighting units, cord-and-plugconnected
utilization equipment not fastened in place, or
both, are also supplied.
So by code you probably would need a new dedicated 20a circuit. The manufacturer may also require it.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-10-11 at 10:38 PM.
  #3  
Old 01-11-11, 02:27 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
Your instructions are going to call for a new dedicated circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'