switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-17-11, 10:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 185
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
switch

this outlet I have in my hand has a built on switch and 1 outlet on it.

Levitron. it has 2 common screws to break the hot wire on 1 side and 2 other screws on the other side that have a tiny N stamped on them but one is silver and one is brass...If I ran a single piece of Romex dead end to this outlet, I would just break the hot and use only one of the 2 N screws on the other side..plus the grnd....
yes..??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-17-11, 10:57 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,999
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Are you trying to used both the switch and receptacle or just the receptacle?
 
  #3  
Old 01-17-11, 01:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 185
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes I am using the switch and the plug...I want the plug switched.. but its a dead end, I am not using 2 pieces of Romex...it is the end of the line ...
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-11, 04:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
On the side with the brass and silver screw Romex white to silver and Romex black to brass.

On the side with two brass screws there should be a brass tab between them. If it has been broken off add a jumper.
 
  #5  
Old 01-17-11, 07:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 185
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i wouldnt have guessed that... the tab is there ,this thing is still in the box.
so the tab is broken if you want to separate them????
in otherwords the switch would not turn on the plug if the tab is broken??
and you would have to have another hot for the plug..??
do many of these sort of plugs have 2 hots from 2 different circuits??
 
  #6  
Old 01-17-11, 08:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
do many of these sort of plugs have 2 hots from 2 different circuits?
Sometimes. It would be code compliant. In that case the tab would be broken and the switch would control one circuit and the receptacle would be on the other circuit. However the tab would also be broken if you wanted an always hot receptacle and to control a light elsewhere. An example is a bathroom. The combined devices provide an always hot receptacle and control a light in the bathroom.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: