Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Do you need to plug the ground cable on something like a motion sensor if...

Do you need to plug the ground cable on something like a motion sensor if...

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-11, 10:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 58
Do you need to plug the ground cable on something like a motion sensor if...

Do you need to plug the ground cable on something like a motion sensor if it's going to be grounded anyway by contact of the motion sensor's case through the screw to the grounded wall box?

I normally do it anyway, but is it necessary since it's already grounded by contact to the grounded box?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-11, 12:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,674
What do you mean by ground cable? Do you mean ground wire from the device? All ground wires must be tied together and if the box is metal pigtailed to the box. A ground wire must be attached to any device not listed as self grounding. When used in a plastic box self grounding devices must have a ground wire.
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-11, 01:31 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
It is a fairly recent addition to the NEC that switching devices must be grounded directly, even if they are screwed to a metal box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'