Adding circuits in an unfinished brick basement

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-11, 08:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 142
Adding circuits in an unfinished brick basement

I'm going to be helping a friend add several circuits to his basement. He's told me he has plenty of room in the box (like room for 12+ breakers) so I was thinking of adding maybe two 20A circuits for tools and two 15A circuits for miscellaneous. Depending on how much 12AWG wire he wants to buy they may all be 20A.

My question is really what needs to be done to protect the wires? As I understand it NM cable needs to be protected from physical damage where exposed. Since they will be exposed - I'm guessing the outlet boxes will be about 4' off the floor and thus 3' or so from the ceiling. I am pretty certain the NM can be run unprotected through cross-bored holes in the joists. I was going to use metallic conduit (pipe, really) to run the wires down the wall to the box. Is this the proper method? If so, is there anything special that needs to be done at the ceiling level where the NM enters the pipe (i.e. some sort of bushing)?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-25-11, 08:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,444
Conduit

The conduit needs bushings at the top where the cable enters the conduit.



 

Last edited by Wirepuller38; 01-25-11 at 09:01 AM.
  #3  
Old 01-25-11, 02:39 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I personally like to see 4x4 boxes at the ceiling. Gfi protection is also required.
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-11, 06:26 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
I would use drive on bushings and save the time and expense of a connector and threaded plastic bushing.

Insulating Bushings
 
  #5  
Old 01-26-11, 07:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,444
Bushings

I would use drive on bushings and save the time and expense of a connector and threaded plastic bushing.
This looks like a much better option.
 
  #6  
Old 01-26-11, 07:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 142
I didn't know that basements qualified as a wet location. I guess we'll have to add a GFCI to the start of each circuit. This is simple enough but will require some extra conduit. No big deal.

As for where to use conduit, what I had planned to do was use larger junction boxes (for future expansion) on or near the ceiling (the top of the wall, rather). Is there any reason conduit would be required between one junction box and the next, assuming that the wire run between the two is horizontal and 7-8' off the floor?

The NEC can be confusing. My house was built in 1987 and the outlet runs in my unfinished basement are simply stapled to wood studs that are surface-fastened to the brick. It looks like the electrician just stuck a 2x4 flat against the wall, power-nailed it, and stapled the NM to it. This hardly qualifies as protection from physical damage, but whatever. They aren't within a wall or anything. I believe they are at least GFCI-protected, albeit on a circuit that I think has way too many outlets.
 
  #7  
Old 01-26-11, 10:05 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,502
Originally Posted by flintsilver7 View Post
I didn't know that basements qualified as a wet location.
The unfinished rooms do.

Is there any reason conduit would be required between one junction box and the next, assuming that the wire run between the two is horizontal and 7-8' off the floor?
Not usually at that height above the floor.

My house was built in 1987 and the outlet runs in my unfinished basement are simply stapled to wood studs that are surface-fastened to the brick.
The rules for protecting NM have been made stricter in recent years.
 
  #8  
Old 01-28-11, 08:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Physical damage is a subjective determination. Perhaps the original inspector did not think the cable was subject to damage and did not require the conduit sleeve.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes