A/C voltage understanding

Old 01-25-11, 09:21 AM
A/C voltage understanding

im a begginner and confused, dont worry im not an electrician haha
i get d/c voltage, its the basic of the two. but what i dont get about a/c voltage is this:
i thought that (to simplify things) a hot wire comes out of the power plant and into your house, through what ever receptacle etc, through your lamp, through the neutral wire and back to the power plant. also that the current alternates back and forth. so with this understanding if you place a test lamp lead in the hot receptacle slot and the ground it will light, but also that if you place it in the neutral and ground it would light also. i know now that the neutral to ground wont light it.

my questions are do the neutral lines go back to the plant or does the current actually alternate into the earth for a ground?
if the current alternates why wouldnt both lines be "hot" and why wouldnt putting the test light from neutral to ground make it light?
that like saying only the black wire is hot which makes it out to act like dc voltage

Sponsored Links
Old 01-25-11, 09:33 AM
I'm not an expert, but there are 2 hots and a neutral, between either hot and the neutral is 120 volts, between both hots is 240 volts. I think the neutral goes back to the power plant.

The current alternates between both hots, not between either hot and the neutral.

Any expert correct me if I'm wrong. I also understand DC much more clearly than these 2 phase AC lines.

Could anyone post how the 2 hots and neutral are connected at the generator/power plant? This would help me understand better.

Old 01-25-11, 10:06 AM
Group Moderator
Could anyone post how the 2 hots and neutral are connected at the generator/power plant? This would help me understand better.