Through or Under Studs

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-11, 08:16 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Through or Under Studs

I'm running several new circuits from a 2nd floor unit to the break panel. The new circuits will span half the basement.

Do I need to drill holes in the joists, or can I staple the cables to the underside of the joist?

This is not the kind of basement that will ever be remodeled.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-27-11, 05:40 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,613
Received 7 Votes on 7 Posts
Circuits

What size wire? The answer to this determines the answer to your question.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-11, 08:05 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
If you don't go through the floor joists, you need to nail a running board like a 2x4 to the underside of the joists that you can staple the cables to. Standard size cables cannot be stapled to joists unsupported.
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-11, 09:59 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 559
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"Standard size cables cannot be stapled to joists unsupported."
I thought 14-10 g could be stapled without running board?
 
  #5  
Old 01-27-11, 11:30 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
No, a cable must be #8 or larger to be stapled unsupported.
 
  #6  
Old 01-27-11, 03:04 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, I always forget a few details....

I'm running #12. The only reason I ask is because the joists are quite old and don't look 100%. I'm probably being overly cautious, but why not ask right?
 
  #7  
Old 01-28-11, 07:11 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,015
Received 42 Votes on 37 Posts
The code is concerned that the cables could be used as a clothesline and the staples could damage the cables.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: