Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

tapping into and adding outlets to dedicated outlet for tankless water heater

tapping into and adding outlets to dedicated outlet for tankless water heater

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-31-11, 09:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 930
tapping into and adding outlets to dedicated outlet for tankless water heater

Recently added a tankless water heater that has its own dedicated exterior wall mounted outlet with only one socket. I want to know if I can change the outlet to a 2 or 4 socket box. I also want to know if I can tap into this connection to run a line for another outlet in another area of the house. The run to the 2nd outlet would be approx 15-20 feet
 

Last edited by Stumped1; 01-31-11 at 09:23 PM. Reason: spelling
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-31-11, 10:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,646
No if this is an electric instant water heater. If gas 120v on a 20a breaker does the manufacturer require a dedicated circuit? If so no.
 
  #3  
Old 01-31-11, 10:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 930
It is a gas unit. These are the installation directions from the manual. It is not clear to me if this means it requires a dedicated circuit.


ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS

1. The water heater must be electrically grounded. Do not attach the ground wire to either the gas or
the water piping.
2. The water heater requires 120 VAC / 60 Hz electrical power supply that is properly grounded.
A proper disconnect (i.e. on/off switch, power plug, etc.) controlling the main power to the
water heater must be provided for service reasons.**(Must comply with local codes).
Connect the power supply to the water heater exactly as shown in the wiring diagram;**
3. A green screw is provided in the junction box to ground the connection.**
4. Can be hardwired or wired to a plug‐in.**
5. The use of a surge protector is recommended in order to protect the unit from power surges.*
 
  #4  
Old 01-31-11, 10:44 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
What does the ** footnote say?
 
  #5  
Old 02-01-11, 05:19 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,059
If the manual doesn't say specifically, what does the nameplate say? It should say 120v xxA. The amp draw will determine what else (if anything) can be put on the circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'