Ground wire size

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-11, 05:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 248
Ground wire size

Over the years, I have noticed that on some romex type wire and some extension cords have a ground wire that is smaller then the load wires.
I always thought it was correct to have the same gauge wires.
When is a smaller ground wire ok?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-11, 06:35 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Many cases you may have a ground wire smaller that the other conductors. If you have a code book (or you might find it on the net) go to table 250.66 or 205.122. You will find that as the conductor size or amperage goes up the ground wire can lag behind. This is because it is figured that the ground wire will only carry current for a very short amount of time compared to the other conductors.

As far as the cords you mentioned, they were likely engineered that way and passed the UL listing process.
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-11, 06:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 248
Thanks---That makes sense-----Now I know
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-11, 07:18 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Back zen, the ground wire was premitted to be 2 number sizes smaller than the conductors.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'