Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

voltometer + help with total noob questions about power output?

voltometer + help with total noob questions about power output?

Old 02-09-11, 09:27 AM
Question voltometer + help with total noob questions about power output?

ok I am a complete electrical noob and I know NOTHING about electricity, amps and volts watts and joules lumens etc. means nothing to me

So, you wonder why I am on this forum, right? I am here becuase my paranoid dad thinks I am plugging too much into the outlets in our 100 year old house, but he doesn't know any more than I do, when I say he has no clue what he is talking about either, he just gets mad. He thinks the house is going to burn down.

Unless he sees something in plain sight, he doesn't believe it most of the time. I know they sell something called voltometers, which can show the amount of output your appliances are using....

is this hard to measure, or do they sell some beginner voltometer with dummy instructions on how to use it? I don't mean to make myself look like an idiot, as I learn quickly when taught, I just don't want to have a bunch of electrical type people answering my question in terms that I have no clue what they mean.

if anyone could help me out, I would appreciate it, it would knock out at least one subject of what our family argues about from time to time.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-11, 09:43 AM
Super Moderator
I am not an electrician but I would think if you look on the appliance plugged in it sgould have an amp rating. If you add them all up you will get what amps your drawing off that circuit/breaker. If you have a 15 amp breaker and you are drawing more amps I would assume the breaker will trip.

The pros will chime in shortly.

Mike NJ

Mike NJ

Old 02-09-11, 09:51 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Originally Posted by cduval04 View Post