electric shock in shower with all breakers off

Old 02-11-11, 06:22 AM
electric shock in shower with all breakers off

hey folks,

We recently noticed that when using our shower, you get a slight electric shock when standing in water and touching the shower head. A meter idicates 10v between shower head and drain. I killed the main breaker to the house and there is still 10v between the drain and the shower head. About 1 month ago, I retiled the shower, which entailed removing the old drywall and putting up cement board. Though I was careful, perhaps I nicked a wire with a cement board screw? I checked water heater elements and they seam fine. What does it mean that the voltage is still there, despite the main circuit being turned off?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-11-11, 06:52 AM
Super Moderator
I deleted this post............................................

Last edited by lawrosa; 02-11-11 at 07:13 AM.
Old 02-11-11, 07:12 AM
Super Moderator
Im not an electrician but sounds like a grounding issue. Appliances should have bonding wire to complete the grounding circuit. Example: wire to hot and cold of water heater, between water meter...ect. Check the ground rod from the panel. Did it disconnect or is it loose? Have you changed anything else in the house??

And if you shut the main breaker off it must be on the street side.

Safety alert on water pipes :: SafetySolutions

Heres another page I found. This sounds serious also and I would not mess around. Call a professional.

Electrical safety for plumbers - NSW Fair Trading

Mike NJ

Old 02-11-11, 07:17 AM
Thanks for the info Mike. And yes, I'm being really careful with this thing. I've got a call into our electrician, but I wasn't sure if a call to the power co might be in order first since the problem remains with the main breaker off.

Old 02-11-11, 07:19 AM