Changing Outlet Controlled by Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-20-11, 12:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 2
Question Changing Outlet Controlled by Switch

Hi,
I would like to change the outlet controlled by a switch in my living room.

Here is the scenario: Outlet #1 that is not controlled by the switch has two black (hot) wires and two white (neutral wires) connected to the outlet and a ground wire. Behind this outlet is a red wire that is capped and continues to the outlet I would like to change. Here is a pic of what I'm talking about.



Outlet #2 which is controlled by the switch has a black and white wire connected to the top plug. The red wire from the switch is connected on the bottom. There is also a ground. Here is a picture of that outlet.



So...can I uncap the red wire behind outlet #1, connect that to outlet #1 on the bottom plug, break the tab and now have that plug controlled by the switch? Also and maybe more importantly how do I make sure that power continues to the top and bottom of outlet #2? Now that I've taken the red wire and removed it from the bottom of outlet #2. Thanks for the help.

FYI I live in California.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-20-11, 02:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
Make sure it is the red that is switched. It usually is but best to check. If the tab has been broken and you wish to feed both outlets on the yolk you can either replace it or pigtail the feed to both screws.
 
  #3  
Old 02-20-11, 07:04 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Ignoring grounds and poor artwork, wire it like this:



Also, tamper resistant receptacles are required.

wiringdiagram.jpg picture by js89938 - Photobucket
 
  #4  
Old 02-20-11, 07:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
Also, tamper resistant receptacles are required.
Actually that would depend on what code cycle his AHJ uses. Regardless the ones he has are grandfathered.
 
  #5  
Old 02-21-11, 11:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 2
Thanks guys, I appreciate the response back!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'