17 awg vaccum cleaner cords carryi ng 12A

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-23-11, 06:01 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
17 awg vaccum cleaner cords carryi ng 12A

Why do these vaccum cleaner companies always use a 17awg cord for a 12A vaccum cleaner? It makes no sense. The cords always get very hot. Every vaccum I could find had these 17awg cords.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-23-11, 08:00 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
They get warm, certainly not "very hot". Vacuum cleaners use type SVT (service vacuum thermoplastic), specifically designed and approved for vacuum cleaners.
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-11, 12:50 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I'd say no more than 120F, but I would rather see 16awg.
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-11, 01:36 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 926
17 gauge? Really? I've NEVER heard of that.
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-11, 02:53 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
It's a specialty gauge with high temperature insulation. If it wasn't capable of carrying the load safely, every vacuum cleaner wouldn't be manufactured using it. When was the last time you heard of an uncompromised vacuum cord causing a fire?
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-11, 03:29 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
They're finely stranded, too. They last through alot of flexing without breaking. I made an extension cord out of one and use it for a radio. ultra-flexible.
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-11, 05:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,147
Originally Posted by Justin Smith View Post
They're finely stranded, too. They last through alot of flexing without breaking. I made an extension cord out of one and use it for a radio. ultra-flexible.
I checked out my vacuum. It's a little 8 amp guy, and yes, has 17AWG cord. I used to design assembly robots, and manytimes speced this cable for the rotating heads. It will take a lot of flexes, I think it is close to 65 strands.
 
  #8  
Old 02-24-11, 05:55 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
The 8A probably has as much suction as a 12A one. It seems as if they purposely waste energy.
 
  #9  
Old 02-24-11, 06:05 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 926
Dang- 17 gauge! I learn something new every time I visit this board!
Andy
 
  #10  
Old 02-24-11, 07:37 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
If only they had 13awg.
 
  #11  
Old 02-24-11, 08:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Any 17awg is capable of handling 12 amps if it's properly rated for the temperature. 90C is the minimum to handle that load.

This is not to say that it's safe to install it in a house, even if you could find 17awg romex.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'