Adding an outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-27-11, 01:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 166
Adding an outlet

My living room has one interior wall that is brick (must be a 70s thing) with a single outlet smack dab in the middle. I am going to put up a real wall (studs & drywall) and would like two outlets about 1/3 and 2/3 of the way from the adjacent wall, doing away with the current centered outlet. Can I run the two new outlets off the feed from the existing outlet, then cap it off?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-27-11, 01:53 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
The old circuit would need to contain a ground in order to extend the circuit. The junction box to the old wiring would also need to remain permanently accessible.
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-11, 04:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 166
All the house wiring is 2 wire w/ground. Maybe I will just add an additional outlet. Seems silly to cap this one off if the box has to remain accessible.
 
  #4  
Old 02-28-11, 08:49 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
You will also need to comply with modern code spacing requirements for receptacles on this new wall which means you need a receptacle no more than 6' from any edge and no further apart than 12'.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'