Arc Fault Breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-01-11, 09:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 35
Arc Fault Breaker

I have an arc fault breaker that seems to randomly trip and I am wondering if the Internet signal I am transmitting through that circuit to connect my router downstairs to my computer upstairs could be causing it. Never had a tripping problem until I plugged the adapter into the circuit.

Thanks

Leslie
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-11, 09:57 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
It absolutely could have something to do with it. Is this an ethernet-over-power thing? Would wifi be a reasonable alternative?
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-11, 05:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 35
Yes it is and I had been using WiFi but was having signal strength problems. Is the tripping more of a nuisance than a safety issue or should I remove the offending adapter and go back to WiFi?

Leslie
 
  #4  
Old 03-02-11, 08:52 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
It is a nuisance trip issue. You could try the Ethernet device on a different circuit, or try a new AFCI breaker. The manufacturers have made several revised designs as they are developing technology so a newer AFCI might be more accommodating. I would certainly think this is worth reporting to the breaker manufacturer and the Ethernet device manufacturer. Both have an interest in being more compatible. I think all of the major electrical companies have a feedback form for AFCI breaker complaints/incompatibilities.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'