Dose a sub w/in 3' of main need its own breaker?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-01-11, 01:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 126
Does a sub w/in 3' of main need its own breaker?

I no longer have access to NEC online, thanks NFPA I was working on installing a subpanel but have gotten so side tracked... its within 3 feet of the main and the question is: Does the subpanel need its own breaker when there will be a breaker in the main panel from which its fed?

Thanks!
 

Last edited by chopnhack; 03-01-11 at 04:17 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-11, 01:27 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
No. Any subpanel in the same physical building as the main panel from which it's fed does not need a main breaker. How's the workshop coming along?
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-11, 01:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 126
Hey, ib, thanks! Dreadfully
 
  #4  
Old 03-01-11, 01:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 339
NO breaker in the sub panel is needed in this setting.

Jim
 
  #5  
Old 03-01-11, 01:37 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
That's too bad! Good luck getting it done and look forward to seeing the final product eventually over on WTO.
 
  #6  
Old 03-01-11, 04:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 126
Words of encouragement Ben What does "WTO" stand for?
 
  #7  
Old 03-01-11, 04:25 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
The Wood Talk Online forums. I'm over there occasionally and I remembered reading your shop building thread about the same time your electrical thread was going on here.
 
  #8  
Old 03-01-11, 06:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 126
Ah! Wonderful!! Fellow woodworker? Money and time have conspired against me... still working at it though. Going to start another thread about fluorescent light units.
 
  #9  
Old 03-02-11, 10:13 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
Originally Posted by chopnhack View Post
Fellow woodworker? Money and time have conspired against me.
When I get the time and money to...I understand that.

Going to start another thread about fluorescent light units.
Go with high frequency electronic ballast T-8 or T-5 fixtures and install "daylight" lamps. The lamps color temperature should be at least 5000K and CRI (color rendering index) 85 or higher; this will get you as close to natural sunlight as you can get with artificial light. The ratings of the lamps make a huge difference in the quality of the light so don't skimp on those. You should be able to get basic fixtures for [email protected] and lamps about [email protected] or cheaper if you need enough to buy a case. They have good output, high-efficiency, cold start and no hum. Do not bother with T-12 at all, they are ancient technology and the hum will drive you crazy. (BTW, the diameter of the lamp is measured in 1/8 inches. T-12 lamp = 12/8" = 1.5" diameter)
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes