Which wires go where?

Old 03-03-11, 05:42 PM
Which wires go where?

I'm installing a new phone jack and I used CAT5, so it can be used for ethernet, later, if needed. Which wires go to the red, green, black, and yellow terminals in the phone jack? I'm not that good with IT stuff. Thanks all.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-03-11, 05:49 PM
Group Moderator
Same colors as you hooked up on the other end. Usually blue and blue/white are used for red and green. The impoertanr thing is to use the same color pair on both ends.

Old 03-04-11, 09:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
As Ray said, the important part is that red/green (line 1) and yellow/black (line 2) are kept as matched pairs. I'm not sure if it matters all that much anymore to hook up yellow/black though since many people don't even have a line [2] anymore let alone a modem or fax line.

Last edited by ray2047; 03-04-11 at 12:31 PM. Reason: Correct typo
Old 03-04-11, 12:38 PM
As the others have written it isn't all that important as long as you maintain the same color code throughout but to be exact you would connect the blue/white to the red and the white/blue to the green.

Black and yellow were more often used for a transformer supply for the dial lights in Princess model telephones or sometimes speaker phones. They were also used with the earlier Trimline phones that still used an incandescent lamp for the dial. More modern Trimlines use an LED that is powered by the telephone line voltage.

If you can, I strongly suggest that you run the new cable all the way to the network interface box rather than splicing (or piggy-backing) onto any existing wiring.

Old 03-04-11, 12:42 PM
Thanks, guys! My house still has a very old phone system, with two cloth covered wires coming in. The yellow and black are just twisted together and soldered. (I soldered them, they would fall apart when bumped, I also used heatshrink.)

Old 03-04-11, 12:42 PM