Can I plug a 208v unit into my home receptacle?

Old 03-04-11, 04:53 PM
Can I plug a 208v unit into my home receptacle?

I've recently acquired a centrifuge and it's tagged with "208 Volts, 25 Amp". I live in a home with "standard" wiring. I'm no electrician at all but was curious if I'm able to plug this centrifuge into my outlet(s) or not?

Before I actually call an electrician I thought I might reach out and see if anyone can give me some simple answers or advice. I appreciate your time and thank you.

-Shane

Sponsored Links
Old 03-04-11, 05:11 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Welcome to the forums! Simple answer.....no, you can't just plug it into a standard 120 volt receptacle.

Old 03-04-11, 05:22 PM
Does it say 208-240V or just 208V? If it's just 208V that requires 3 phase service which would cost more to have put in your house than a new 120V centrifuge. If it says 208-240V you could have it wired to the service panel if the panel rating is big enough to handle it. Do not plug it into a standard 120V house circuit.

Old 03-04-11, 05:27 PM
208 usually denotes a voltage available in commercial buildings with three phase service. Is the centrifuge designed for three phase or single phase service? If single phase (doubtful), you might have a slim chance. Check with the manufacturer and ask if it can be used on 240V. If so, then you can probably use it.
Andy

Oops- BD posted while I was writing this.

Old 03-04-11, 05:31 PM
Is it a single phase or 3 phase piece of equipment. Rated at 208 volts, it could be either. If it's 208 volt single phase, it will work on a 240 volt single phase circuit. If it's 208 volt 3 phase, it will cost more to make it work than it is worth (unless you can change the motor to single phase).

Old 03-04-11, 06:48 PM
phase converter is also an option.

Old 03-05-11, 05:40 AM