electrical codes for my county

Old 03-13-11, 08:33 AM
electrical codes for my county

How can I get a copy of the NEC residential electrical codes for my county, is there a link you can give me or something ? I'm trying to Google it and not coming up with direct answers ! I"m trying to AVOID putting gfci outlets in my garage if at all possible, I'm a musician and they create a hum on some amplifiers. I'm going to finish the garage, (put in walls, ceiling), soon after electrical is done, I'm turning it into a studio, but I'll still be able to pull my car into it. I live in Kosciusko County, In., just outside the city limits of Syracuse.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-13-11, 08:51 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
The NEC is a "National" electrical Code. Any local variations would be approved by your local building inspector. If it will still have a concrete floor when you are through with your remodel, I don't think they will approve a variance. The concrete floor is a direct route for grounding. You may be able to install a GFCI breaker in your panel which would help alleviate the humming. If the humming is on some amps and not on others, you may want to consider a dedicated ground. It wouldn't be the fault of the GFCI, but of the amplifiers themselves.

Old 03-13-11, 09:25 AM
Thanks ! Yes, it's probably the amps. Some amps have a "polarity" switch on them, and if it's buzzing, you can usually eliminate it by switching this. I'm probably going to be installing a power conditioner also, or at least a plug-in type, not sure what these do, but probably have nothing at all to do with buzzing ! ? Just heard they are good for constant electrical supply.
You guy's have helped alot ! When I get it all done, inspected, and everything, I'll take pictures and post them. Thanks for the patience, I'm slow as an old turtle, but I WON'T do anything unless I'm positive about everything !

Old 03-13-11, 02:11 PM