Junction box question

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-11, 11:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Junction box question

Hi everyone,

So, im mapping out a whole room rewire and I had a question about junction boxes. If I were to run the main line (12/2) from the service panel to the room I'm rewiring then split it in a junction box before I start going to any outlets or switches can I still utilize AFCI breaker protection for both of the lines after the split?

The junction box would have two branches, and each would be utilized in the same room. I was thinking of using the jbox to reduce the drywall, stud, and joist drilling.

This is a bedroom so I wanted to use the AFCI breaker.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-24-11, 11:27 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,288
As long as it is only one 12/2 (hot, neutral, ground) cable leaving the main panel for this circuit, the AFCI breaker will function correctly.
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-11, 11:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Thanks,

Yes, it is one 12/2 line going from the service panel, to the junction box, where it splits to two branches. Both branches will be used in the same room. And an AFCI breaker of course.
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-11, 12:45 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
The box must also remain accessible.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'