Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Brand new circuit blows all flourescent ballasts, help please!

Old 03-25-11, 10:16 AM

Hello all,

This is my first post on here, but I'm sure I'll find some help. I'm not a certified electrician, but I've done some electrical work here and there. Yesterday I installed a brand new circuit from the panel to the last plug, it's a 15A run with a GFCI outlet just behind the breaker, 4 outlets on a switch and 8 constant hot. I've checked the outlets with a GFCI tester (the kind with the lights that show if it's wired correctly and also tests the GFCI by shorting the circuit). Everything checks out right as far as being wired correctly and the GFCI trips when I push the test button. All the outlets work and power things but anytime I plug a flourescent light into any outlet in the circuit the ballasts pop and burn out.

Is there a possibility that the GFCI is bad? Everything is brand new. The panel is an older style square D, the type with the breakers that "clip" onto the rail and also have the wide clip onto the power bar. It doesn't have separate neutral and ground buss bars, I saw a couple other circuits with the ground/neutral sharing the same buss system so I did the same.

One note on the GFCI outlet that caused me confusion was when I plugged a radio into it, the standby light would only blink and the radio wouldn't turn on, but when I plugged it into a standard outlet on another circuit it worked just fine.

Any trouble shooting help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Sponsored Links
Old 03-25-11, 10:33 AM
Group Moderator
Measure the voltage on the circuit at the light with an analog multimeter, good quality digital meter (cheap ones have ghost voltage problems), or a solenoid tester.

Old 03-25-11, 10:43 AM
Ray,