Re-routing conduit

Old 04-04-11, 02:01 PM
Re-routing conduit

Seems like a stupid question, I'm sure, but how do you connect a plastic conduit extentsion to metal conduit?

Edit: Let me be more specific. I currently have metal conduit running out of the ground, and up to a light fixture by my porch. I need to re-position the light fixture, so I obviously need to re-route the conduit (basically shortening the length by about a foot and going to the left about 6 inches).

How do I do that?

Sponsored Links
Old 04-04-11, 02:06 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Is the conduit thinwall (EMT) or thick wall (rigid) threaded? Does the conduit contain wires from other circuits or only for this fixture? Does the conduit contain a green or bare ground wire in addition to the insulated circuit wires?

Old 04-04-11, 02:13 PM
Thanks for the response. Bear with me, because I am a true amateur.

The conduit seems pretty thick to me. I can't bend it at all.

The end going into the light fixture is threaded, but to shorten it (cut it) I will have to remove the threading.

The conduit contains wires for this light fixture only.

Old 04-04-11, 04:31 PM
Group Moderator
Old 04-04-11, 04:53 PM

I'm trying to re-position this light fixture. How do I re-route the metal conduit, without making it look "trashy"?

Old 04-04-11, 06:03 PM
Group Moderator
Boy what an ugly job. I'd say removing the conduit all together would be best. You said the conduit comes out of the ground? Where does it come out of the ground?

Is there a crawl space directly below the porch or an unfinished attic above the porch?

Old 04-04-11, 06:42 PM
Originally Posted by Socnorb11 View Post
Seems like a stupid question, I'm sure, but how do you connect a plastic conduit extentsion to metal conduit?